Black Girls Be Having Birthdays!

Yesterday, August 29, 2012 was my birthday.

I am 23 years old.

I am 23 years old and I live at home.

I am 23 years old and I live at home and I am working.

I am 23 years old and I live at home and I am working and it’s part time.

I am 23 years old and I live at home and I am working and it’s part time and in my field.

I am 23 years old and I live at home and I am working and it’s part time and in my field and I enjoy it.

I am 23 years old and I live at home and I am working and it’s part time and in my field and I enjoy it and I dont have any children.

Let me say that again…

I am 23 years old and I live at home and I am working and it’s part time and in my field and I enjoy it and I dont have any children.

I am 23 years old and I live at home and I am working and it’s part time and in my field and I enjoy it and I dont have any children and I dont have a husband.

I am 23 years old and I live at home and I am working and it’s part time and in my field and I enjoy it and I dont have any children and I dont have a husband and I dont have a boyfriend.

I am 23 years old and I live at home and I am working and it’s part time and in my field and I enjoy it and I dont have any children and I dont have a husband and I dont have a boyfriend and I dont even have a consistent boo thang.

I am 23 years old and I live at home and I am working and it’s part time and in my field and I enjoy it and I dont have any children and I dont have a husband and I dont have a boyfriend and I dont even have a consistent boo thang BUT

I have the support of my wonderful family and I have amazing friends and my friends are old and new and near and far and black and white and I am making a difference in my community and I am creating my own definition of success.

I am 23 years old and I am blessed.

What's your blues?

