Black Girls be Gettin By Wit a Lil Help From Their Friends

I’m sleepy and it’s way past my bedtime but I amgoing to blog every day this month!

So I just want to take a quick minute and say how grateful I am for the people in my life. We have an obsession with titles and labels. Black, white, old, young, friend, lover. But the reality is that none of these things matter. The truth is that all of these labels that we stick on people so that we can feel more comfortable in our carefully categorized life are lies. I am blessed to say that I have people in my life who have performed above and beyond the role I have assigned them in my life. My closest friends are my sisters. I have no choice but to love them and when I am angry with them I know that it is from a place of love. They make me a better person. I have had male friends who have been lovers who have taught me more about genuine relationships than a “boyfriend” ever has.
I had the opportunity to spend some time with a friend like that this evening (which is why I am up at 2:30 blogging). We laugh, we joke, we tease, we question but most of all we care. And not in a superficial what can your success do for me kind of way but in a very real I want the absolute best for you kinda way. I am a better Me when I am around him because I’m not trying to be something or do something or prove something. I just am. And I wouldn’t trade our intimacy for anything.

There are so many other examples I could mention but it’s too late, I’m too tired & it would take too long. Just know that I am immeasurably blessed and I thank God for each and every person He has placed in my life. Even you.

What's your blues?

