Black Girls Be Trying to Find Love on the Internets

Today I took I big leap. Today I signed up for online dating!

*insert menagerie of emotions*

I don’t know what made me do it. All I know is that I was reading the August 2012 issue of Essence Magazine and next thing I know I got the desire to “browse” PlentyofFish.com. But you can’t browse without an account so I told myself that I would make my account, browse and then delete my account. Well three messages from three potentials in & I don’t think I’m deleting my account. 😉 lol

I think it was while I was filling out my profile that I realized that it’s time for me to be honest with myself about what I want. For the last couple of months I have been praying HARD. And not just for any man, oh no, I’ve been praying for The Man. The One. The End All Be All. These prayers go something like this: God, you know my heart. You know what I want. And you know what I need. Lord I need a man that is God-fearing, loves family, respectful, intelligent and honest. Hard working and dependable. A man that is gonna help me become the best person I can every day. A man that is financially sound. And if he is tall, chocolate has all his teeth and job benefits that would be real nice too. But God you know all this. Just send me the man You have set apart just for me. The one You made with me in mind. Then I pray for Him to get this lust demon off my back and out my drawers but that’s another post.

I have prayed this prayer many times over the last few years but never as diligently. I mean I pray for my soulmate at least 5 times a week. Sometimes I pray for him. I pray that God will bless him, protect his heart & know that I’m out here loving him and praying for him already. And I know that might sound crazy but it helps to remind me that God’s got it and whatever is meant for me is already mine. Including my Future Husband.

Which is why I felt like online dating was disrespectful to God. Because I thought that if I tried it I would be telling God that I don’t trust that He’d handle it. But as I signed up I felt a calming peace that God works through ALL things, even online dating sites.

I will continue to pray & follow my heart & keep an ear tuned for God’s voice. And of course I will be safe & won’t do anything that makes me feel uncomfortable. Black girls be smart you know. Well that’s it. I gotta go. Just got a new message ;-)… Wait make that 4 potentials 😉

 

One thought on “Black Girls Be Trying to Find Love on the Internets

  1. Lust demons…we rebuke you!!! I am also on plenty of fish! In hot ol AZ…not to many potentials though! Well, not many that want a chocolate woman. Your post definitely made me think….I pray every now and then for my future hubby…like every few months? I feel like God already knows! At the same time…that mindset could be applied to any situation. I think I will send up a special one for my special one tonight 🙂

What's your blues?

